Stuck Places

StuckPlacesPic

Wow. Time passes in a blur, doesn’t it? Seems like just yesterday I was ringing in the new year with a bottle of bubbly and a list of resolutions stretching from here to Timbuktu. Among them, sitting pretty in candy red ink between the gold standard, lose weight and the overambitious, run a marathon, was a bold proclamation…a statement deemed important enough to have been underlined in triplicate:  that this was going to be THE YEAR for achieving my dreams as a writer.

But seeing as how it is now June, and the only resolution I managed to cross off my list was eat more fiber, I figured it was high time I gave myself a swift talking to, launching into bursts of inner dialog laden with phrases like  “no more fucking around,” “get serious and buckle down,” “you can do this” and my personal favorite, “it’s go time!”

So, with that much needed pep talk under my belt and a fresh stream of determination running through my veins, I popped open the laptop, hammered out an action plan, and set the whole shebang into motion.

Sounds doable, right?

Not so fast.

Part of that plan was to write 1000 words a day.

Oh, come on! How hard could that be?

Hmm. Harder than you think.

You see, I have a problem with what I refer to as “stuck places.” Meaning that I really really REALLY want to write, but sometimes, the words simply won’t reveal themselves. They get stuck somewhere between good intentions and overthinking. I suppose you could call it writer’s block, but it’s not so much the ideas that are missing, but rather, being able to formulate those ideas into a written representation that makes sense.

Words. Stubborn buggers.

Do you ever get stuck? If so, what do you do about it? Do you simply bide your time until the words come? Or is there some secret formula for getting unstuck that I haven’t yet been privy to?

I’m open to any and all suggestions.  🙂

Me1

S A Healey, a happily married mother of two, is and will forever remain, a lover of words and a sucker for romance. You can currently read her first novel, Empty Me Out, for free on Wattpad.

http://www.wattpad.com/story/3361337-empty-me-out

13 thoughts on “Stuck Places

  1. One thing I find quite useful is to to write in segments. I tend to get lost in pathways trying to plan out direction so figured if I took sections of a whole I could manage that no problem then look to linking them. So, for example, I was writing a coming of age story and couldn’t decide what came first, second or even where I’d end up. So I wrote in ‘scenes’. Put my characters into different scenarios that I might include later and worked on each piece almost like separate short stories. At the end I had loads of incidents and occurrences for possible inclusion. Now, having said all that, I’ve never gone back to it! 40,000 words sitting doing nothing.
    I’ll probably revisit it but, right now, I’m embarking on the same technique to gather as many possibilities and having no problem coming up with them. It feels a bit like knitting a jumper – creating pieces that still have to be stitched together into a whole to make it something useable. And I hate stitching up! I might just end up with lots of backs and fronts and sleeves and nothing to show for it! But it certainly helps to get the words on the page and I enjoy creating all the scenes.
    I don’t know if it’s something you may already have tried with more success than me but it might be worth a shot if only to get the flow going. Good luck. And if you find a way to stitch it altogether without tiring of it let me know. 😉 x

    • Oh, I’ve got story fragments all over the place. lol. But you’re right, working in segments can absolutely help! When I was working on my first novel, I actually wrote the ending first, then a middle section, and then started at the beginning. Kind of a weird way to put a story together, I suppose, but it worked for me. 🙂 Thanks so much for commenting and good luck with your writing!

  2. I think that the hardest part of writing, even a mini blog, is to find the theme. Once you find it, and you feel comfortable writing about that specific subject, words will flow naturally.
    Sometimes we may want to write about something, but we feel a kind of fear to let know our deepest thoughts and ideas, and that’s what a real writer must overcome. There are people for everything, and be sure that if we like your way of writing, we will stick with you whatever you’d write about.
    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

